Holding On To Your Dreams After Major Knee Surgery

We all have dreams… ambitions… things which we are passionate about… Most of us can think of things we would like to do, places we would like to go… special things, not just an ‘any-day-of-the-week’ sort of thing.

I love the mountains and in the days before my left knee became “an issue”, I would head for the hills whenever I could and enjoy their challenge, their peace, their beauty….

Now, because of all the surgery I’ve had on my knee (and my ankle, and my neck…!), I can’t even remember when I was last in the mountains. It was certainly some years ago. But that doesn’t mean that I’ve given up the idea of getting back into the hills one day… In fact, I said to my physiotherapist in one of my earlier sessions that my goal, my challenge to myself,  was to get fit enough to go back in the hills. Obviously I realise that having had my patella re-alignment operation (patella stabilisation/vmo advancement/ lateral release revision surgery), and previously the patella tendon decompressed (twice!) and the back of my patella trimmed (chondroplasty) (twice!), plus the original open lateral release and numerous arthroscopies… I’m never going to be really fit again! I’ve given up any ideas of running again. Yes, that was a love of mine too, but even I can be a little bit realistic!! But a good, long walk would be great! A walk without crutches, without a stick, just me! Even if it were a low-level river valley walk rather than a hike to the summit of a mountain…

I’m still doing all my physio and rehab as you know, and so that goal remains just that: a goal. Now, I know that I haven’t achieved that goal yet, but I’ve come up with another one… an even better one!  Another challenge to myself for after I’ve achieved the first one : The Himalayas!

Lakeside setting in Pokhara, Nepal

Lakeside setting in Pokhara, Nepal

My dream has always been to go to the Himalayas. I would love to go to Nepal, Tibet, Bhutan…. The scenery is stunning! The mountains are majestic and awe-inspiring. The people appear warm and friendly; the culture rich and fascinating. Combining my love of the mountains and my interest in philosophy and Buddhism it would be a wonderful place to visit.

Flag bunting in Tibet

Flag bunting in Tibet

Sometimes we have to make the effort to make our dreams a reality…

So, in one of my most recent physiotherapy sessions I informed my physio of my latest plan… next year will be my “Big Birthday” and in recognition of that I want to go to the Himalayas! Yes, I know that means that between now and next year I have to make a full recovery from my surgery, and fulfill my first goal, and then move on to capture the dream of my second goal…. But it’s a great plan! It’s a dream and perhaps it’s an achievable one…

The response from my dear physio wasn’t really the one I was hoping for… without the slightest hesitation, without the slightest pause for consideration, he replied “Lyn, you’ve got no chance!” Then he added, “I’d love it if you proved me wrong, but really, you’ve no chance!”

“No chance”… so much for letting me down gently! So is that how it really is? Am I just to accept that, or is that a challenge?

It’s a dream… and dreams can come true.

Wouldn’t it be fabulous to see a snow leopard? I would love to see one. I adore snow leopards and I’ve seen one in the zoo: it was stunning! Imagine seeing one in its natural habitat in the Himalayas! Some photographers have been lucky enough to do just that:

A magnificent snow leopard

A magnificent snow leopard

If I ever do manage to reach my goal and fulfill my dream, I realise I wouldn’t be climbing mountains or going on long treks at high altitude (I’m quite sure the popular Everest Base Camp would be beyond me and my knee) and it’s highly unlikely I’d be in a position to see a snow leopard… but that doesn’t mean I couldn’t visit. I’m sure it’s still feasible.

How fabulous is this pussycat?

How fabulous is this pussycat?

Dreams are something to hold on to, and just because I have had major knee surgery doesn’t mean I should give up on them, nor you yours.

I could always hire a yak and tour the Tibetan Plateau…

 

 

(*with thanks to whoever took these gorgeous photos – I found them online)

4 Comments

  1. Fabulous, what a web site it is! This website gives useful data to us, keep it up.

  2. Thank you very much,
    Best wishes, Lyn

  3. Very encouraging motivation ! Broke my patella and had surgery.

    • Hi Khim,
      Thanks for visiting my blog and I’m glad you like my inspiration/motivation section. I hope other people find it useful, but I use it myself too! If I’ve had a bad day I read over what I’ve written and I really do find it helps!

      I hope you are recovering well after your surgery. When did you have it?
      Best wishes, Lyn

Leave a comment